My Books

I am a Rêveur

I know in French that means Dreamer, but it means something entirely different in The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. If you haven’t read this book yet, it’s about time you do. I want you to go down to your nearby Barnes & Noble and get it right now. I’m serious. I can wait.

This has become one of my all-time favorite books, so much so I am currently reading it for the second time. I don’t read books multiple times unless they completely envelope me into another world that I admittedly prefer over my own. I’ve read each of the Harry Potter books at least 3 times, some as many as 5. I feel like I could read The Night Circus just as many times. THAT’S how enchanting it is.

As you might has guessed, this book is about a circus that’s only open at night. Completely decked out in black and white, Le Cirque des Rêves is much different than anything anyone has ever seen. It is the venue of what I can only describe as a “magic face-off,” although it’s much more than that. Through intricate details and stunning imagery, the circus comes alive and sections of the book take your own perspective as though you are walking through the path between countless striped tents yourself. I have never so much wanted to jump inside a book and live within the pages so much as this one. I almost find myself more intrigued by the circus itself and the secrets it holds than the actual plot.

I don’t want to go into much detail about the actual storyline, for fear of giving any of the secrets away. The best way to go into this book is blind–not knowing much about anything, in order to fully watch the magic unfold.

You’ll soon learn that the circus “groupies” so to speak call themselves Rêveurs, following the circus around and wearing black and white to better blend in with the object of their obsession, save for a splash of red–a scarf, a hat, a rose resting on one’s lapel. I find myself wanting to dress accordingly as I read, mashing my consciousness even more so into the story and calling myself a Rêveur as well. I know if the night circus were real, I would be right alongside them, obsessively following, exploring, and writing about the circus.

Erin Morgentsern, bravo. You have created a masterpiece of both the book and the circus.

Leave a Reply

